S4SN 2019 | Early Career Award

The Society for Social Neuroscience has established this award to recognize Early Career Contributions to Social Neuroscience.


Members are asked to nominate a colleague for this distinguished award recognizing the formation of new approaches or paradigms within a field of neuroscience, and or the development or advancement of research that cuts across fields of neuroscience. Two awards will be given, one for human research and one for animal research.


  • Award winners will be representative of the most creative and promising investigators in the field of social neuroscience and will embody the future of social neuroscience through their cutting edge ideas and novel research.

  • Nominees for the Early Career Award must have completed their Ph.D. within ten years of the date of the annual meeting at which the award would be conferred. Individuals who have completed their PhD since October 2009 are eligible.

  • Award winners must be able to attend this year’s Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL on October 18, 2019, to present their research during the Awards Symposium.

Selection Criteria

  • Is the research characterized by rigorous and innovative scientific methods?

  • Does the research build upon existing social neuroscience in scholarly ways?

  • Is the research having a scientific impact?

  • Is the research novel and creative?

  • Does the research have the potential to transform how we think about social neuroscience?

Nomination Materials

  • A letter of nomination

  • Two letters of recommendation, at least one of which is from a member of the Society for Social Neuroscience.

  • The nominee’s current CV, electronic reprints or links to the nominee’s work, indicating the most important contributions to social neuroscience.

To Submit

The deadline for submissions is September 15, 2019 (Sunday). Nominations should be submitted via email attachment to steve.chang@yale.edu.

Previous Winners


Eliza Bliss-Moreau, University of California, Davis
Matthew Apps, University of Oxford



Jonathan B. Freeman, Ph.D., New York University
Oren Forkosh, Ph.D., Max Planck Institute



Jamil Zaki, Ph.D., Stanford University
Steve Chang, Ph.D., Yale University



Molly J Crockett, University of Oxford
Teruhiro Okuyama, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Gül Dölen, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Olga Klimecki, Ph.D., University of Geneva



Jay Van Bavel, Ph.D., New York University
Zoe Donaldson, Ph.D., Columbia University